Skip to main content

10 of 12 incumbents to run for county office

January 6, 2014

Coroner Leon Brune (l) announced Monday he planned to seek a ninth term, while Superintendent of Schools Terry McAteer (r) took out Petitions in Lieu of Filing Fees that morning to also seek re-election in June. File photos

All but two local public officials appear to be seeking re-election in the upcoming June 3 Primary.
With 59 days remaining in the filing period, nine other incumbents have taken out Petitions in Lieu of Filing Fees and a 10th – Coroner Leon Brune – announced his intention to run for another term on Monday.
So far, 11 days into the 2014 election cycle, the field of prospective candidates includes 10 incumbents and two newcomers testing the waters for 16 public offices, which include four seats on the Inyo County Board of Education.
The newcomers – general contractor David Tanksley and CPA/Bishop City Councilman David Stottlemyre – have taken out papers to run for the seats of the two incumbents who will not be running for re-election: First District Supervisor Linda Arcularius and Assessor Tom Lanshaw, respectively.
While both incumbents have said they will not seek re-election, Arcularius might be more resolute in her decision than Lanshaw, who said that while another term is not in his plans right now, “things can change.” Lanshaw is finishing out his fourth term, having first won election to the post in June 1998.
Arcularius, on the other hand, is ready to turn over the seat she has held since being appointed to serve out an unfulfilled term in March 1993 (and being subsequently elected in every election that followed). She first made it known last year that her current, sixth term would be her last.
“I’ve made it pretty well-known that I won’t be running again,” Arcularius said.
Stottlemyre, who plans to run for Lanshaw’s seat, just finished the first year of a second four-year term on the Bishop City Council, having been re-elected in November 2012.
County officials who will be running for re-election – and are so far unopposed – include:
• Clerk-Recorder Kammi Foote, first elected in June 2010 and finishing her first term.
• Public Administrator Patricia Barton, elected in June 2006 and finishing her second term after running unopposed in 2010.
• Treasurer-Tax Collector Alisha McMurtrie, elected in June 2006 and finishing her second term after running unopposed in 2010.
• Sheriff Bill Lutze, first elected in Novem-ber 2006 and finishing up his second term after running unopposed in 2010.
• Coroner Leon Brune, first appointed to fill out a two-year term in 1980 and elected to eight subsequent four-year terms.
• District Attorney Tom Hardy, appointed in September to fill out the remainder of retiring D.A. Art Maillet’s term.
• Auditor-Controller Amy Shephard, appointed in May to fill out the remaining term of the departing Leslie Chapman.
• Inyo County Superintendent of Schools Terry McAteer, appointed to serve out George Lozito’s term in January 2010 and elected to the post in June 2010 after running unopposed.
• Superior Court Judge Brian Lamb, first elected in November 2002 and then re-elected in June 2008.
With the exception of Superior Court Judge, which is a six-year term, all terms are four years.
The current filing period runs through Feb. 20 and is only the first step in securing a spot on the June 3 ballot. Residents do not become official candidates – and become eligible for placement on the ballot – until they file Declarations of Candidacy and circulate Nomination Papers, a process that follows the filing period and runs Feb. 11 to March 7.
The nomination period will be extended to March 12 for the District 1 Supervisor and County Assessor seats, if the incumbents do not, in fact, file for re-election.
Other local positions up for re-election include four seats on the Inyo County Board of Education: Area 1 Alden Nash, Area 2 David Hefner, Area 3 LeeAnn Rasmuson and Area 5 Chris Langley. Candidates for these positions are not required to gather nomination signatures or pay filing fees.
For more information, call the Clerk-Recorder’s Office at (760) 878-0224, or download the Candidate’s Guide at

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes