Skip to main content

Register to vote: the Nov. ballot is set

October 1, 2012

Local candidates are out on the campaign trail, hoping to generate as many votes as possible and win a seat of public service in November.
In Inyo County, voters will be deciding who will serve as the Fourth and Fifth district supervisors, a three City Council members.
But before residents can participate in the election, they must be sure they are registered to vote.
According to Inyo County Clerk Kammi Foote, Monday, Oct. 22 is the last day to register to vote for the Nov. 6 Presidential General Election.
“Registering to vote has been made easier thanks to the latest phase of an online voter registration application,” Foote said. “Online or on paper, California’s laws and procedures for processing voter registration applications are identical.”
The voter registration application is accessible at Paper applications are available at the Elections Office, post offices, public libraries, the Department of Motor Vehicles and at other locations.
Also, voters may now find the location of their polling place, view copies of their sample ballot booklet or track the status of the Vote-by-Mail ballot on-line at the Elections Department website at
For more information about registering to vote or polling places, contact the Election Department at (760) 878-0224
Locally, there are three seats available on the Bishop City Council and five candidates scheduled to appear on the ballot. Incumbents David Stottlemyre, Susan Cullen and Laura Smith will be defending their seats on the council against challengers Keith Glidewell and Patricia L. Gardner.
City Treasurer Bob Kimble, who was first appointed to his position in 2003 and was re-elected in 2005 and 2009, will also be on the ballot, though no opponents will be running against him.
This will be the first year the City of Bishop’s election will be consolidated with the county and state’s General Election.
Marty Fortney will be defending his seat on the board against Big Pine challenger Mark Tillemans.
In the Fifth District, challengers Jim Gentry and Matt Kingsley will be vying for current Supervisor Richard Cervantes’ seat.
To learn more about the City Council and Fourth and Fifth District supervisor candidates and incumbents, look for a series of candidate Q & A’s to be published in The Inyo Register in Early November.
Residents will also be selecting candidates to serve on several special districts, including school district boards, hospital boards and more.
Voters in the Big Pine School District will be selecting three trustees as incumbents Danelle Carrington, Carla R. Bacoch and Sandra Lund and challenger Robert C. Vance are all scheduled to appear on the ballot.
Voters in Independence will be selecting two out of three candidates to serve on the Owens Valley School Board. Incumbents Aldene Felton and Sandra Anderson will be running against challenger April Zrelak.
The final election will be for the Trona Unified School District, where four residents are vying for two seats. Incumbent Bob Wilhelm will appear on the ballot with challengers Sandra Kay Sprouse, Samantha MacClean and Karen Siegle.
The remaining special districts, including the Northern and Southern Inyo Hospital districts, Inyo-Mono Resource Conservation District, and Round Valley, Death Valley, Bishop and Lone Pine school districts will not be appearing on the ballot because the number of seats available and the number of candidates who applied is the same.
Incumbents Eric Richman and Trina Orrill will be reappointed to the Bishop Unified School District; Ethel L. Messer and incumbent Crystal Aldrich will be appointed to the Death Valley Unified School District; Stacy Sparrow will be appointed to the Round Valley Joint Elementary School District; and Susan Patton and Marjianne Yonge will be appointed to the Lone Pine School District.
Three incumbents, John Ungersma, Denise Hayden and D. Scott Clerk, will be reappointed to the Northern Inyo County Hospital District; and three incumbents, Mary Kemp, Albert Berry and Steven Davis, will be reappointed to the Southern Inyo Healthcare District.
Also, for the Inyo-Mono Resource Conservation District, incumbents Dave Doonan and Thomas Noland will be reappointed.
In the race for U.S. Senate, voters will be choosing between incumbent Dianne Feinstein, a Democrat, and Republican challenger Elizabeth Emken.
For the seat in the 8th U.S. Congressional District, a new area without an incumbent, residents will be voting for Republicans Gregg Imus or Paul Cook.
For the 26th Assembly District, voters will be choosing between incumbent Connie Conway (R-Tulare) and Democratic challenger Jonathon Louis Sosa.

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes