Skip to main content

Last chance to run for local office

August 9, 2012

Any resident who is interested in running for school or hospital boards, or the Bishop City Council, in November must submit their candidacy papers by Friday. Photo by Mike Gervais


With just one day left to file for candidacy, there is a five-person race shaping up for three available seats on the Bishop City Council.

Assistant City Administrator Danise Gillespie said Wednesday that Patricia Gardner returned her nomination papers to City Hall earlier this week. Following review of the paperwork, Gillespie said Gardner has qualified as a candidate for Bishop City Council for the Nov. 6 election, and will be joining incumbents Susan Cullen, Laura Smith and David Stottlemyre and challenger Keith Glidewell on the ballot. 

As of Wednesday, no one had taken out papers to challenger incumbent Bob Kimball for the position of City Treasurer.

Inyo County voters from Wilkerson south to the San Bernardino and Kern County lines, and east to the Nevada border, will also be voting for the Fourth and Fifth District supervisors in run-off elections.

In June, the top two vote-getters in the Fourth District were incumbent Marty Fortney and challenger Mark Tillemans.

In the Fifth District, challengers Matt Kingsley and Jim Gentry both beat incumbent Richard Cervantes in June. 

In addition to the Board of Supervisors and City Council seats, there are several positions available in special districts throughout the county.

Some positions on the boards, the Clerk-Recorder’s Office said, have yet to have candidates apply. 

Those who are interested in serving as an elected official must have their declaration of candidacy submitteed to the Inyo County Clerk by the end of the day Friday.

The positions available (and candidates who have already submitted their paperwork) are listed below:


Northern Inyo Hospital Board of Directors

Zone I: Dr. John Ungersma (incumbent)

Zone II: Denise Hayden

Zone IV: D. Scott Clark


Southern Inyo Hospital Board of Directors

Zone I: Mary Kemp

Zone III: Albert Berry (unverified)

Zone V: Steven Davis


Death Valley Unified School District Board of Trustees

Two seats: no one


Lone Pine Unified School District Board of Trustees

Two seats: Susan Kay Patton 


Owens Valley Unified School District Board of Trustees

Two seats: Aldene Felton (incumbent) and April Zrelak


Round Valley Joint Elementary School District Board of Trustees

One seat: Stacy Sparrow


Trona Unified School Board of Trustees

Two seats: Gary H. Heff and Bob R. Wilhelm


Inyo-Mono Resource Conservation District Board

Two seats: Thomas Noland


Big Pine Unified School District Board of Trustees

Two seats: Carla Bacoch, Denele Carrington, Sandra Lund, Robert C. Vance 


Bishop Unified School District Board of Trustees

Two seats: Incumbents Trina Orrill and Eric Richman


Inyo Clerk-Recorder Kammie Foote is also reminding all local servicemen and servicewomen who are serving overseas to contact her  at or (760) 878-0224 to ensure that there are no delays in sending or receiving their election ballot.

“Citizens who live overseas or are in the military have longer mail delivery times so the law permits them to apply for and receive their ballot up to 60 days prior to an election,” Foote said. “If these citizens have moved or changed their contact information, they will need to notify the Elections Department as soon as possible.”

Those living overseas citizens can obtain more information about their right to vote by visiting the Department of Defense’s Federal Assistance Program’s website


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes