Skip to main content

Youth keep Inyo spellbound

December 15, 2011

Superintendent of School Dr. Terry McAteer congratulates the High School winners of the Inyo County Spelling Bee: (l-r) Karina Morales, Kevin Sprague and Noah Keathley. Sprague took first place in the high school division for the second year in a row. Photo submitted

Inyo County Superintendent of Schools Terry McAteer and Assistant Superintendent Pamela Jones have crowned the 2011 Spelling champions.
Forty-one students from nine local elementary, middle and high schools participated in the 2011 competition, held at Jill Kinmont Boothe School.
Thirty-one students made it to the final rounds.
At the county-wide spelling bee held Dec. 8, reigning champion Kevin Sprague from Bishop High School won first place in the high school division and Tenaya Morelock, also from Bishop High School, competed in the elementary/middle school division as a ninth-grader and won first place.
According to the Superintendent’s office, Sprague carried first place for Bishop High School for the second year in a row. He had previously won first place for Home Street for two years in a row, making him a four-year first-place winner. He took the honors at this year’s competition by correctly spelling “jaundice.”
Morelock won first place in the elementary/middle school competition by correctly spelling “lenity.” Morelock had represented Round Valley for a few years winning fifth and fourth, and last year took first place.
Last year she represented Inyo County at State, placing seventh overall in the Junior High competition.
Following are the winners of the competition:

High School Competition

1st Place – Kevin Sprague, Bishop
2nd Place – Karina Morales, Bishop
3rd Place – Noah Keathley, Owens Valley
Other high school contestants included: Chelsea Chapeliere, Paul Lucia, III, Joshua Mendez, Kelsey Skaggs and Allison Wilder from Lone Pine, Chad Braun, Desarae Coats, Shealan Cruise and Elizabeth Nunez from Owens Valley, Kerissa Isaac and Ginger Perez from Bishop and Kaity Barlow from Big Pine.

Elementary/Middle School Competition

1st Place – Tenaya Morelock, Bishop HS 9th Grader
2nd Place – Abby Southey, Lone Pine
3rd Place – Kristen Lamb, Home Street
The other elementary/middle school contestants included Kennah Davis, SydneyFrigerio, Zoe Freilich, Grace Griego and Clifton Yarborough from Round Valley, Jennifer Velazquez, Skye Bentley, Logan Stephenson and Sophia Taylor from Pine/Home Street, Trinity Angele, Bailey Cruz, Dylan Fitt, Alicja Fowler and Raymond Hunter from Big Pine, Naiya Warren, Cianni Benson, Jessianne Joiner, Ella Martin and Will Rowan from Owens Valley, Darik Hykes, Lacie Jones, Jackie Luna, and Jasmin Luna from Lone Pine.
The Superintendent of School’s Office offered a special thanks to the teacher-coaches including Brenda Mack, Holly Hansen, Carmen London, Victoria Hamilton, Tim Steele, Corinne Quintana, Harold McDonald, Janie Williams, Chris Dangwillo and Jeff Putman who spent many hours working with their students.
“Extra special thanks to Brenda Mack, Corinne Quintana, Larry Todd and our parent volunteers for proctoring the Preliminary Written Competition,” a press release states.
The competition was judged by Alden Nash and Pete Korngiebel. Liz McAteer graciously accepted the position as the pronouncer for this year’s competition. Pamela Jones was the Spell Master for the Preliminary Written Competition for 29 elementary and middle school contenders.
“A special thank you goes to Round Valley Parent Organization for donating $5 to the ‘last person standing’ from each of the nine districts competing,” the press release states.
High Sierra Awards’ Ed Himelhoch engraved the trophies with names of the winners at no charge.
For more information, contact Ilissa Twomey at (760) 873-3262 ext. 429.

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes