Skip to main content

Broncos XC dominates Desert

October 28, 2011

Bishop sophomore Wyatt Walsh lead the field with a win at 19:37 during Wednesday’s meet against the Desert Scorpions.

The Bishop Broncos Cross Country teams dominated the Desert Scorpions on their home course at Tungstens Hills Wednesday.
The boys won 15-48 taking the top six spots with Wyatt Walsh leading the pack in his first race win at 19:37. The girls, running against an incomplete field of Lady Scorpions, remain undefeated in High Desert League. Jackie Garcia recorded her first win of the season in 23:28.
Participating with the high school teams were the Bishop Home Street and Mammoth Middle Schools. Competing on a shortened two mile course, Shelby McKinley impressed all by leading from start to finish to win in 16:20.
The invitational boys race featured an exciting finish with Carson Reid coming across the line less than a second behind Mammoth’s Andrew Bermudez at 13:11.
“What’s impressive about our times,” said coach Jeff Perry, “is that Bishop had little competition and the kids tried hard just for the sake of trying hard. They wanted to run fast regardless of winning. Many of our kids ran a course personal record and we’re proud of them for that. Wyatt and Jackie both beat out our usual number one runners. Also, Sam Johnson and Evan Menses have worked incredibly hard and secured themselves a place on our varsity team.”
The meet could be characterized as a tune up for the league finals scheduled for Wednesday, Nov. 2. Most Broncos’ runners took advantage of the ideal weather conditions to post personal bests.
On the girls side, winner Garcia was followed by Dana Gravencamp and Amelia Yarborough who recorded a personal best. Kayla Inderbeiten and Jamey Wilcher rounded out Bishop’s top five.
The boy’s dominated by bringing in the first six runners in a rout that demonstrates the depth of the Bronco talent.
Walsh set a personal best at the home course and credited the cooler weather with knocking 8 seconds off his time against Kern Valley, Oct. 19.
Also breaking the 20-minute barrier was Chris Schmidt while the next four Bishop runners, Nick Schley, Ray Eckland, Max Piercey and Alejandro Sanchez, finished tightly grouped inside of a minute.

Boys: win with 15-48
1st – Wyatt Walsh, 19:37
2nd – Chris Schmidt, 19:46
3rd – Nick Schley, 20:36
4th – Ray Eckland, 20:44
5th – Max Piercey, 21:15
6th – Alejandro Sanchez, 21:27
9th – Evan Meneses, 22:28
10th – Sam Johnson, 22:39
12th – Thomas Sills , 23:25
13th – Tim McMullin, 23:25
14th – Nate Stephens, 23:53
17th – Joe Domke, 24:09
18th – Giacomo Timbrello, 24:21
21st – Tony Profita, 25:04
23rd – John Hecht, 25:55

1st – Jackie Garcia, 23:28
2nd – Dana Grevenkamp, 23:41
3rd – Amelia Yarborough, 24:21
4th – Kayla Inderbeiten, 25:08
5th – Jamey Wilcher, 26:11
7th – Angie Flores, 26:56
8th – Mandy Fuller, 27:07
9th – Melody Aust, 27:22
10th – Ginger Perez, 27:53
11th – Kirsten Underwood, 28:05
12th – Kaija Holland, 28:32
13th – Miranda Barnes, 32:16
14th – Lupe Rios, 33;17
15th – Casey Koltoff, 34:08
16th – Lilly Meacham, 38:50

View more articles in:
Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes