Skip to main content

Bishop hosts successful state high school rodeo finals

June 23, 2011

This bronc adds a twist to his buck during the final round of saddle bronc riding at the Tri-County Fairgrounds. Photo by Deb Murphy

With the backdrop of the Eastern Sierra, still covered in snow, and the citizens of Bishop wearing “Welcome Home” T-shirts, the California High School Rodeo Association held its State Finals June 13-17.
Fast runs were made, champions were named and the entire week was a huge success. Behind the scenes, many people worked hard to see that success happen.
The town of Bishop is filled with volunteers who work tirelessly to make contestants and their families feel at home. Before they arrive the community advertises the event, sells passes and does what it can to promote the state finals. The beginning of the week there is a dinner where a small group of people cook all day and serve dinner to over 800 people in about an hour and 15 minutes.
Then throughout the week they have coupons for their businesses, collect admission at the gate and end the week with a free pancake breakfast before the awards ceremony. Literally hundreds of volunteers and donors work to make this happen. It is an extraordinary event and experience in these times where doing more than expected is rare. The small town “love” and appreciation is exceptional and well received. The CHSRA knows how special this is and recently extended its contract with options to stay in Bishop until 2017.
Of course the people of Bishop want CHRSA to call Bishop “home” forever and by the looks of it that could become a reality.
On the rodeo side of things we had some great rides, scores and times in all the events. We have new champions, a National Team for 2011, and a new queen to represent us.
The CHSRA staff worked tirelessly. It takes a lot of paperwork, manpower and volunteers within our organization to make a rodeo run smoothly. Hats off to the parent volunteers who make the little things like pulling barriers, feeding cutting cattle, and hanging banners happen.
As we end this year we are looking to celebrate 40 years next year. Plans to make this anniversary year a special one are starting at the annual August meeting.
Saying thank you seems so little when you consider what it takes to have a state finals and what the community of Bishop does for CHSRA and for our sponsors, Les Schwab, Ropers Sports News, BFI and Ariat. But thankful is what we are for a great week in Bishop and thank you is what we will say to all those who helped make it happen in and out of the arena.
Here are the winners and the National Team list.

2011 Girls All Around Champion
Kortney Cleveland
2011 Boys All Around Champion
Lane Santos-Karne
Katelin New, District 5
Barrel Racing
Tegan Turner, District 6
Kylie DeWitt, District 6
Samantha Hand, District 7
Sydney Wheeler, District 6
Tie Down
Sterling Humphry District 1
Colton Farquer, District 5
Dane Lybbert-Browning, District 4
Lane Santos-Karney, District 7
Steer Wrestling
Dillon Hushour, District 3
Danny Brown, District 1
Jaed Hare, District 3
Tyler Forsberg, District 7
Bareback Riding
Casey Meroshnekoff, District 1
Chase Bowen, District 9
Saddle Bronc
Pierce McClelland, District 1
Michael Hall, District 3
Nolan Brennan, District 5
CJ Cash, District 1
Team Roping
Clay Ruiz/Case Hirdes, District 5
Kenzie Williams/Adam Fitze, District 2
Colten Campbell/Sterling Humphry, District 1
Ryan Dodds/Tyler Forsberg, District 7
Bull Riding
Jonathan Miller, District 6
Willie Dynes, District 8
Aaron Williams, District 8
Adam Lawson, District 7
Boys Cutting
Cody Golding, District 6
Jordan Sparrowk, District 3
Lane Santos-Karney, District 7
Tristan Ruffoni, District 7
Kortney Cleveland, District 8
Cheyenne Carpenter, District 3
Lucy Lawson, District 2
Brandi Anthony, District 1
Katie Rice, District 3
Chelsey Pulcheon, District 8
Courtney Wood, District 1
Emilie Shadle, District 5
Chanel Reese, District 2
Kortney Cleveland, District 8
Cambra Owen, District 2
Ali Bilkey, District 7
Alexis Velasquez, District 4
Girls Cutting
Chrissy Madgwick, District 8
Jenna Drammer, District 7
Kenzie Williams, District 2
Kimmy Ferrante, District 7

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes