Skip to main content

Connie Conway named Legislator of the Year

January 27, 2011

Inyo County Supervisor Linda Arcularius (l) presenting the “Legislator of the Year” award to Assembly Minority Floor Leader Connie Conway (R-Tulare). The award is called the Patti Mattingly Award. Photo submitted

One of Inyo County’s state legislators has been named “Legislator of the Year” by a council of peers.
The Regional Council of Rural Counties announced that it has selected Assemblywoman Connie Conway (R-Tulare) as one of two recipients for the annual “Patti Mattingly Award” for 2010. 
According to a press release, “The Patti Mattingly Award is given to a policymaker that has demonstrated leadership on rural issues and an understanding of the unique challenges that rural communities face.”
“It is with much appreciation that the Regional Council of Rural Counties selected Assemblywoman Conway for her important work on behalf of rural counties in the State Assembly,” said Supervisor Diane Dillon of Napa County and chair of the RCRC in a press release. “Assemblywoman Conway’s many efforts helped rural counties meet the challenges of the 2010 Legislative Session.”
The RCRC’s Patti Mattingly Award was established in memory of former Supervisor Patti Mattingly of Siskiyou County for her “tremendous courage, commitment, and ability to promote constructive solutions surrounding rural issues.” The recipient is selected by the RCRC Board of Directors.
“All of the member counties of RCRC applaud Assemblywoman Conway’s efforts this past year,” added Inyo County First District Supervisor Linda Arcularius who presented Conway with the award. “One issue of importance to Inyo County and other RCRC-member counties was her authorship of Assembly Bill 2398, which would have created an off-highway recreational trail program to promote tourism and responsible off-highway vehicle use in rural areas. And, Assemblywoman Conway remains committed to accomplishing this worthy endeavor.”
In addition to Conway, Assemblywoman Alyson Huber (D-El Dorado Hills) was also selected to receive the Patti Mattingly Award.
Headquartered in Sacramento, RCRC is made up of 30 rural counties that advocated on behalf of rural issues, as stated in the press release. County supervisors comprise RCRC’s governing board. Founded in 1973, RCRC deliverers, “the message that a ‘one-size-fits-all’ policy often doesn’t work in a rural context.”
The RCRC’s member counties’ 2.5 million residents comprise a population larger than 15 states and the counties’ combined land area represents nearly half of California’s 156,000 square miles.

Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes